How do I make a beat in Ardour (I'm a newbie)

See the the topic title…

Well… Ardour is a very flexible and powerful tool :slight_smile:

If you want to sequence individual drum hits in Ardour, you can (I have done).

1. Get drum samples.
  2. Import them into your session.
  3. Create a Track to put your samples in (or a track for each drum instrument, kick, hihat etc).
  4. Set snap-to to beats or quarter-beats as required (what’s the resolution of your beat going to be).
  5. Drag drum samples into timeline.

This is not especially painful, and can be a useful technique. You could also bounce your completed beat to a new region (I don’t know how to do this but it’s gotta be possible) to make moving it around/pasting it easier. But you can also just select all the regions that make up your beat and copy-paste them to more places in the timeline to loop it or whatever…

OR (forget all the above and) use Hydrogen…

1 Like

http://ardour.org/files/manual/index.html

I don’t believe Ardour can currently do music composition. It’s a recording software. Get a mic and record yourself…

“This is not especially painful” Cough cough… Right… But we don’t want drum programming to be painful at all. Sorry I don’t mean to be rude! I’m just learning the software and I found myself extremely puzzled trying to understand cues. I started out just placing out samples in a track but it’s not streamlined, I feel it has not been designed for it. I’d love something similar to LMMS I was using before, there is a beat/bassline editor that is very effective and straightforward.

Anyway, I’m sure I will get better at using Ardour, but I’m looking for help to get “on track” with the drum programming.