How do I install LV2 plugins?

I have downloaded some plugins which are in standalone, LV2 and VST format. However, I cannot seem find any instructions on how to install them! so the obvious answer is: How do I install these plugins??

I am fairly new to Ubuntu 13.04, so if there is a step by step solution to this, I would much appreciate it!

1 Like

I downloaded the plugins from the “Distrho” website and it comes in zipped/compressed folders with 3 sub-folders (VST, Standalone and LV2).
The plugins are:
Artican “the pilgrim” and “the function”
the Distrho plugin pack
Highlife
Juced “eqinox”, “drumsynth” and "capsaicin
The TAL plugin pack
and the wolpertinger

I just want to install these so that i can use them… whether it’s the LV2 plugins or VST doesn’t really matter as long as it works.

Help > Reference leads to http://www.manual.ardour.org/working-with-plugins/getting-plugins/

see "How do I Insall plugins"

It doesn’t say how to install anything :-S It only tells you the location it should be installed in and that’s the last step as far as I know.
I have no idea how to compile software… so can somebody please present some easy steps I can use?

Thank you LeatusPenguin that was excactly what confused me!

I’ll some of both I guess

I tried copying the lv2 plugin-folders to “usr/lib/lv2” but nothing happened?
do I need to need to do the same with the VST and standalone folders as well?

augustfrancke: depending on which linux distribution you have, /usr/lib64/lv2 may be more appropriate (particularly if /usr/lib64 exists). it also depends on where you got ardour from. if you got it from ardour.org (the only way that we offer any “official” support), then it will search all over the place for LV2 plugins. if you got it from your linux distribution, it may be more limited in the locations it looks for LV2 plugins and you will have to check with the package maintainers on your distribution.

Thank you Paul!