Hope

The last year has been full of reasons for fear, nonetheless, hope dominates.

On July 22 2010, my beautiful daughter Boudicca was born to my wife Megan and I, and we became parents for the first time. A life-changing event for anyone to be sure, but even more so for us, as we had purchased our first home just a month prior. All was not rosy in our family, however, as I was charged with drunk driving just a week before Boudicca’s birth, and subsequently entered a treatment program and counseling to deal with an alcohol addiction I had been battling for at least two years (and not-battling for my entire adult life). I attended my first AA meeting the day before Megan went into labour, and to this day find it hard to describe the confusing mixture of self-loathing and utter exuberance I felt that day and in the days following. Although Megan had planned on having a natural birth (no anesthetic), her hopes were dashed after labouring for almost twelve hours on her own, when the doctor’s found that Boudicca was breach and a c-section would be her best option for coming into the world. We had even lined up a midwife to assist in the birth, but it just so happened that she was away for the week that Megan went into labour, as Boudicca had not been expected for another week. Nonetheless, she was beautiful and perfect, and the love I feel for this little person is greater than I could ever imagine.