Help with simple MIDI import

I am new to Ardour; I’m an experienced user of Audacity and Sibelius, and I wanted to try a more sophisticated approach to recording; in particular, I want to take advantage of non-destructive editing.

I’m using Ardour 6.3 on Ubuntu 20.04 installed from the backports PPA.

I have composed a piece in Sibelius, and output a MIDI file. Sibelius uses General MIDI.

When I try importing the file into Ardour, it auditions fine with “a-Reasonable Synth”, but since it uses multiple instruments, I want to use “a-Fluid Synth”. Whatever I do, I can’t get audition to produce any sound with “a-Fluid Synth”.

Also, I’m not clear how I’m supposed to get sound output once the MIDI file is imported with “a-Fluid Synth”. (If I import it with “a-Reasonable Synth”, it works fine, but of course all the sounds are piano.) I can load the sound font into each track’s “a-Fluid Synth” plugin, but that is rather cumbersome (needs to be done for each track), and I see suggestions that it might use a lot of memory (with the font being loaded for each track).

I feel I must have overlooked something, but after hours of searching, reading the manual, and watching YouTube tutorials, I finally stumbled on something quicker: I created a new MIDI Bus with “a-Fluid Synth”, loaded the GM Fluid sound font into it, and routed all the MIDI tracks from my imported MIDI file to the bus. Then I got sound.

Having looked at LMMS and MusE too, Ardour looks to be the best-designed and most comprehensive program of the three, so I’m keen to get to grips with it, and I understand that it’s likely to be hard at first. (Last year when I tried video editing for the first time I similarly had to grapple with Shotcut.)

So, my questions are: Am I doing things in a reasonable way (if not, how can I most straightforwardly import General MIDI in such a way that it plays)? What documentation have I overlooked? How can I make MIDI audition with “a-Fluid Synth” produce sound?