Help with Send MIDI Clock

Hi, I am a bit new to the Ardour MIDI functions.

My problem is can’t seem to get Ardour to send Midi Clock to my USB Arturia Keystep.

I want to sync the Arpeggiator on the KeyStep to the clock in Ardour so that when I press record the Keystep will be in sync. Thus when I record audio from an external synth connected to the keystep’s MIDI out, the arpeggation will sync with the beat of the other tracks.

I have set the keystep to receive clock via USB. And I have also enabled MClk Generator in the Preferences menu.

I have also tried to add an extra MIDI track and messed around with the MIDI routing grids on both inputs and outputs on the track, with the keystep assigned, to no effect.

I have tried to read the manual. (It says someting about sending to a JACK-port. I am not using JACK at all and the manual also says clearly that JACK is not needed since v 4.0 and I am using the latest version.

What am I missing?

Ok, sorted it.

Novation Supernova II multitimbral setup In Ardour 5.12.0 on 64 Bit Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

Ignore the Global Channel stuff in the Novation Sequencer setup doc, you don’t need it. Set up 8 tracks in Ardour, use Midi Channel Map plugin by Robin Gareus: http://x42-plugins.com/x42/ to direct output to each of the seven tracks (the first one doesn’t need this as it’s already on Channel One) directing channel one on each track to the respective 02 - 08.

Set the Global Midi Channel to 09 and make sure the Midi Clock is set to External on the Novation as per the other Novation doc.

Edit > Preferences > Sync > MIDI > Enable Mclk Generator in Ardour.

In Midi Connection Manager, Window > MIDI Connections, set Midi Clock OUT (the port is inside/under the “Ardour Misc.” tab of the MIDI connections window) to the MIDI OUT of the MIDI device you are using. In my case it’s listed as ESI M8UXL MIDI 1 (Out) as my hardware is connected that way.