Help me reproduce my Alesis with a plug in?

Hi! While I guess this is kind of off topic, I’m wondering if anyone here can help me find something like the lovely Room 1 program of my 24 year old Alesis Nanoverb. Over the years I’ve found endless inspiration by routing voice, guitar, everything to it in my monitor mix. Here is the manual page:

I’ve wondered if they’d mistakenly swapped descriptions for Rooms 1 and 2 because when I set to Room 1 I don’t think I hear a lot of ‘early reflection slap’. Although I’m no expert. My Room 1 setting seems better described as a lush, immersive stereo ambience – I hear no discrete echoes. It sounds a lot like the Hall programs (only that the size of the hall has shrunk).

In any case, what I have easy access to in Ubuntu Studio 20 are:

• a-reverb
  • calf
  • c*plate
  • freeverb (version 3)
  • guitrarix_freeverb
  • gverb
  • gxmultiband
  • gxreverb
  • Impulse Reverb mono/stereo
  • invada early reflection reverbs
  • invada::er reverbs
  • lsp impluse reverbs
  • MaFreeverb
  • MaGigaverb
  • Mverb
  • plate reverbs
  • tap reverberator
  • zita reverb

It’s difficult to coax a bad sound from the Alesis, although it may be a wrong sound for what I’m doing. What I’ve found generally from plugins so far is tinny and echoey as opposed to lush ambience. But could be I just need guidance with setting parameters?

Any advice or guidance would be appreciated. Thanks!

I have captured IRs from a mid 90’s Nanoverb for use with

https://x42-plugins.com/tmp/sisel4-ir.zip directly shows up for that plugin, but the IRs also work with other convolvers. Each of the rooms was captured with 5 different settings of the “Adjust/Size” knob.

PS. They’re labeled “sisela” (read it backwards) to avoid ™ issues:

2 Likes

Thanks Robin this looks very interesting. Will it work with Ardour 5.12?

The plugin was written with Arodur 6 in mind (provide process threads), but yes it will work in 5.12 albeit less efficiently.