Harrison Mixbus and Ardour

I’ve been using Ardour for several months now and recently decided that I would contribute financially (since I have enjoyed using it so far). However, just after I made my contribution I discovered the Harrison Mixbus option, and was so convinced that it would be a great addition to Ardour that I bought it.

After downloading the MIxbus software I noticed that it was not an ‘addition’ at all… it’s it’s own separate application! So, it looks like the version of Ardour that I have is now obsolete… is this true!?

My question: is there a use for the version of Ardour that has now been humbled by the powerful Mixbus software (which I will be sinking my teeth into very soon)? Or… will it become just another dusty application that I will send to the bin…?

Maybe I’m missing something about the difference between the two.

Thanks!
James

@solardog: mixbus is not a replacement for Ardour in any direct sense. Its a commercially released and supported version that includes Harrison DSP and changes to the GUI that are focused on making the mixing process smoother, simpler and more intuitive. This has some real benefits (you can read the enormous thread on GearSlutz if you want to hear some feedback from users), but also some costs: that Harrison DSP is running on every track whether you specifically need it or not. There are some purposes (such as large scale recording) where this could really be considered a waste of CPU cycles and using “vanilla” Ardour would make more sense. In addition, if you were using lots of other plugins for your mixing process and found the Harrison DSP built into Mixbus redundant, you can’t turn that off and free up the CPU resources that its using.