Good Ardour setup on Ubuntu Studio 24.04

Hi all,

I am running Ardour 8.6 on Ubuntu Studio 24.04. My machine is a Thinkpad t480 i7 with a 256GB SSD. I have a Roland JD-XI mini synth and a Steinberg Audio interface. I have some very limited Linux experience(using Mint on my daily driver), but its the first time I try to produce music on it - I really like the look and feel of Ardour, I have produced some tracks on Logic a few years back and it’s not that different in many respects. I still have major problems with sound servers and configuration though.

What I would like to do: I produce beats and sounds which are usually a mix of sound samples from various sources such as freesound, some self recorded tracks from my synth and the odd midi track. I would also like to go to Youtube without changing the sound server every time.

First Ardour told me that I had a system limit for reserving memory - after some effort I changed it to unlimited. Then it warned me about my system being to slow to keep up with Ardour. I changed several things in the settings in accordance with an article I found on Arch Linux and Audio. That seemed to have improved it - the sound server and many settings are still rocket science to me though.