Funeral Doom Metal song created using Ardour3beta5 and Hydrogen, mastered with jamin

I would be highly grateful if you guys take a look at http://archive.org/details/TheElderOnes in your spare time and drop in some criticism about the mixing, drum programming, riffing, mastering etc. Everything has been done using ardour3beta5, hydrogen(death metal drumkit) and jamin. I am new to recording stuff, and in need of your feedback and attention.

Link to audio : http://archive.org/details/TheElderOnes

Regards.
Anirban

I have no idea how to critique this.

I do disagree with Smurf ENTIRELY, however, when he said “the musical statement could have been made in like 2/3rds the time.”

NO.

The entire musical statement could have been made in 1/10th the time. If not less.

To my ear this isn’t very musical. It’s mostly percussion with occasional guitar stabs and an asthmatic guy with a mic. I don’t actually hear any “riffing.” I can’t really critique the mix except to say it’s not clear enough to make enough of anything out to critique. Which is sort of a critique.

Definitely not my style of music… so maybe it’s supposed to sound like that. I just don’t know.

What I do know is that if this band had a leader, he would look like this guy:

@lundberg
Thank you very much for checking out the song. I used a digitech rv7 reverb pedal for my guitars, and vocals (I did not record a dry signal in the first hand). I used Calf LV2 reverb in the master track. I endeavored to get the sound of bands like esoteric, colosseum , moonsorrow etc, with high reverb and stuff, but I guess the end result was not what I wished it to be, it sounds muddy, that it does.

@smurf