Full screen (F11) patch to keep toolbars / tearoffs

I’ve gone ahead and developed a patch to keep the toolbars / tearoffs and a method to toggle them in full screen (via the ‘Window’ menu). It also keeps the settings with the session’s options.

If you want to download and apply the patch and try out (and give feedback), you can go here:

http://dx9s.ath.cx/node/51

IF there is a bug that I’ve introduced, understand this is a un-offical patch to the development stream. It might never be added to any of the branches, but is a small patch for a small feature that some people might like!

BTW> thanks to Paul for pointing at the files and speeding up my time spend hacking the code… I am NOT a GTK programmer and can get away with hacking most C/C++ code with no problems!

–Doug

just a question: my audio computer is down so i can’t look at it to see for myself.

i haven’t used fullscreen mode before, but i like to have the main ardour window and the mixer window on two different desktops (in metacity or compiz). does the fullscreen mode work with this sort of setup? ie can i have the main window fullscreen on one desktop face and the mixer fullscreen on another? what about when using two monitors? can you make the windows fullscreen on each head?

just curious :slight_smile:

porl

If the screens have Xinerama extensions and the environment (gnome/kde) recognizes the two displays… full screen (F11) snaps to the window that the Editor is MOST/MORE in … (if between to windows, the screen it occupies more of).

I’ve done that for a while… Mixer in one window (still has the window manger border around it) and the editor in another window (and yes with more monitors) qjackctl in another monitor and the mixer (envy24control) in the fourth window.

–Doug

hmm… maybe i should think about getting a second monitor again :slight_smile:

could i make a suggestion though that the mixer window has a fullscreen option as well? not urgent, but would be nice :slight_smile:

porl