Frontier Tranzport

Hi, I have been using Ardour (Ubuntu Studio) for some time now without issue and I think its great, so I decided to complicate my setup with a Frontier tranzport device. I plug it in, can read it with lsusb, I can see the device and its name. It appears to be detected fine. At the suggestion of another topic on here I tried the hotplug method. (its worth noting at this point that if I run the ‘tranzport’ file located in /etc/hotplug/usb/ and the device lights up an echos back some zeros and ones when ever I push a button so I know I have basic connectivity. I also ran an install from a GIT thing? which I think was kernel drivers.

When I run Ardour and select the Tranzport, I get a notice to tell me that Tranzport could not be initialised. So I ran it from the command line and I get the actual error which is ‘Cannot Claim USB interface’.

From looking at other topics and looking through some of the source code (I’m an amateur programmer) I think its something to do with udev. However I’m not sure what this is.

I looked through io_usb.cc in the driver source code and there is a condition after the opening condition which is ‘usb_claim_interface(udev, 0) < 0’ if that helps anyone? because if this condition is not met, the script throws the claim message above.

This is driving me mad now, if anyone has any ideas on this issue, I would be grateful.

BTW I am still learning Linux. So If I have missed out any information like versions or something please let me know.

Thanks in advance…

@marcdever: very much to my disappointment, supporting the Tranzport turned out to massively more complex than it should be, mostly because of two issues: