Frequent audio export crashes

Hello dear Ardour community!

I am new here and I wrote a little bit about me in my profile. I’ve been using Ardour for a few months now, while I’ve already learned a lot of useful things on this forum, this is my first post. I have the 4$ subscription, I am a spare time musician, however I spend a lot of time making music.

With certain sessions Ardour crashes after audio export. I’ve read about problems with audio export and was able to narrow the problem down a little bit. But at the end of the day I cannot tell what exactly causes Ardour to crash:

It happens with particular sessions only: what makes them particular is the use of certain plugins–see below.

• Jack/Pulseaudio
    I’ve read that the audio engine can cause problems with export. But it still crashes if I don’t use Jack (only ALSA) and even after uninstalling Pulseadio.
  • Plugins
    I tried to add the plugins I’ve been working with recursively and to export both real-time and “the other export mode” hoping to understand which one causes the crash. While the results with a test session containing a very short audio region are inconsistent, the LSP Compressor is one of the main suspects.

The real sessions however, the ones with many tracks and regions and side-chaining ecc. crash consistently. Other sessions I am working on don’t crash when exporting audio – a main difference to the crashing ones is that the latter contain LSP and x42 plugins.

I will stop here, please ask if you need more information, I really hope to find a solution.

I submitted a bug report with the session file and a backtrace.

Note: The audio export works perfectly, it crashes right afterward.

Wilhelm

Start by removing the VST2 Speedrum plugin and see if that’s the cause.
If not my other suspects would be the convolvers.

It’s weird that malloc.c complains about “No such file or directory.”
Are you working in or exporting to a very long directory path or to something with weird characters?