Focusrite Scarlett 18i20

Okay I got myself in quite the pickle…
First, I apologize if this isn’t specifically Ardour but the Linux Musicians forum is dead.
I have been using a first generation Scarlett 18i20 for around 5 years now. Been working great. 3 years ago, I incorporated an Octopre Mk II via the ADAT input of the Scarlett to give myself 8 more input channels. Also, was working great.
It was brought to my attention a 2nd Scarlett can be used in place of the Octopre which would also give me 8 more analog outputs via the first Scarlett’s (the one acting as soundcard) ADAT output. So I went to get a second Scarlett but the only first gen ones for sale costed more than a new 2nd gen. I’ve been hearing for years that the 2nd Gen is working with ALSA, so I went for it.
ALSA shows a single parameter for the 2nd gen, which is the clock source. I installed kernel 5.11, same thing. So I hooked it up to a Windows box, and set the routing so it would send its inputs out the ADAT and send the ADAT input channels to its line outputs. Now when I hook it up the original Scarlett (the one that is acting as the soundcard) it doesn’t send audio to the DAW or take signals.
Anyone using a second generation Scarlett and have any tricks for getting ALSA to configure it? I found this page:

But I don’t know what to do with it. Do I find those files on my system and make exactly those edits? Do I even need to do that at this point? I thought those changes were already incorporated in the 5.x kernel.
Sorry for all this. Just if anyone with a second gen can think of something obvious I am missing.

Hi I have a second gen 18i20 but, I do not fully get what your trying to ask?

Hi, I appreciate the reply. I guess my most immediate question is does ALSA show you all the routing options and whatnot for the 2nd gen 18i20? Because mine literally only shows the clock source option and nothing else. This is both with alsamixer in the terminal as well as the Qasmixer UI.