Fixing levels in a drums record

My band is recording some rock songs with Ardour. We don’t have too many resources and we have recorded the drums with some voice mics (4 channels since my Lexicom Omega only have 4 input channels).

The result is what you can hear in http://www.safelrock.com/sites/www.safelrock.com/files/drums-sample96.mp3 (real hyperlink not allowed, sorry).

As you can hear, the song have different parts (I have cutted down the result so you can hear three or four different parts in only 45 seconds) and our drummer hits the drums louder or softer depending on which part he is playing. This result in an annoying difference of volumes that makes the song almost impossible to mix properly with the other instruments.

What is the best way to fix it? I’m a totally newbie in the recording universe.

I suppose that I can simply draw “gain automations” all along the song, but doesn’t seem to be the most “technical” solution (it’s some kind of handcraft) and there are 4 channels, so I have to draw the same “lines” 4 times.

On the other hand, I suppose I can use a filter. Maybe a compressor or something like that. In ardour homepage Barry’s Satan Maximizer and SC4 are both recommended, but I have no idea about how to use none of them. Any tip, recomendation or explanation about those filters or any other that can work for my problem?

Thanks a lot in advance.

I’ve been reading about compression in wikipedia and messing around with SC4 (by Steve Harris) and Calf Compressor (by Thor Harald Johansen) and it seems that any of them can make my day. :slight_smile:

Anyway, I’ll stll be glad to read any advice about this issue.

Hi,ancorgs try sending the drum tracks to a stereo buss,add some compression and eq to the buss as well as the indivual tracks then if you need to automate the levels you only need to do it once on the buss.

I had read about busses, but I had forgot. Thanks for such a great tip.