final bounce level on master out

Dear Paul,
I have some simple solo marimba pieces which are classical. I use the K20 meter. When I want to bounce them in a final version for a CD, should the meter be going in the red when I am playing loud or louder (forte to fortissimo)? Sometimes when I have done this the CD still seems to soft on the stereo.

I’m the wrong person to answer this, but I am sure someone more suitable will respond.

I’m not a mastering engineer, but from what I understand, you want your average level to be around 0 on a k20 and peaks around between +6 to +12

braxton is correct. however, if your peaks are around +6 to +12 at most and your average is below 0, it will seem quiet.
you will need to compress the track until you can settle all of the dynamics into that range comfortably.

depending on the recording, you could also put a limiter on it first, as you probably have a couple dB of unused headroom that can be removed without any loss to the dynamics. Calf has a bunch of good ones for free!

Where did you “read around” to come to that conclusion? It’s always been my impression that the levels on your K20 meter are those after you’ve done all your limiting and compression, and give you a measure of your product’s final dynamic range and loudness.

I’d say you should set the peaks to avoid clipping (either with a true peak meter that detects intersample peaks or by allowing a margin of 0.5dB - 1 dB on a meter that only takes sample values), and use the K meter to set the average level to be in the yellow region of the meter, which you control by adjusting limiting and compression (interactively with keeping keep the peaks under control).

“genre, client’s preferences, and what you’re competing with” is about which meter you use for judging how much compression to apply.
K12 (compressed, relentlessly loud and boring)
K14 (somewhere in the middle)