Fedora 8 PPC Ardour SELinux problem - newbie question

Hello, I am a linux newbie and I have a problem opening Ardour. My SE Linux will not allow ardour to open.

This is the description of the problem as given by SE Linux

“The /usr/lib/ardour2/ardour-2.1 application attempted to load /usr/lib/libjack.so.0.0.23 which requires text relocation. This is a potential security problem. Most libraries do not need this permission. Libraries are sometimes coded incorrectly and request this permission. The SELinux Memory Protection Tests web page explains how to remove this requirement. You can configure SELinux temporarily to allow /usr/lib/libjack.so.0.0.23 to use relocation as a workaround, until the library is fixed. Please file a bug report against this package.”

Allowing access says:

"If you trust /usr/lib/libjack.so.0.0.23 to run correctly, you can change the file context to textrel_shlib_t. “chcon -t textrel_shlib_t /usr/lib/libjack.so.0.0.23” You must also change the default file context files on the system in order to preserve them even on a full relabel. “semanage fcontext -a -t textrel_shlib_t /usr/lib/libjack.so.0.0.23”

The following command will allow this access:

chcon -t textrel_shlib_t /usr/lib/libjack.so.0.0.23

Is there anyone that can help? Thanks!

Terence

You appear to be running a security-hardened linux variant (SElinux). That may be giving you the grief mentioned above. I’m not saying ardour is insecure, but by design it uses the computer differently than a “ultra-secure” system might want to let you.

Realtime access and memory locking come to mind as things that would be a bad idea on, say, a bank’s server or a server on the big bad internet, but are really cool for your music studio 'puter. Are there others out there running SElinux with ardour?