External MIDI keyboard connection with MacOS

I’m new to ARDOUR, and DAWs in general. My initial need is to use Peti VST on my MacBook Pro (MacOS 10.14) with external MIDI keyboard (AKM320). I got Peti (harmonium synthesizer) installed in Ardour5. It works fine with its software keyboard, and I’m very impressed with the overall design of Ardour, but I can’t figure out how to make the external keyboard work.

I appreciate that Ardour has reasons for using external software for this, and have installed MIDI Patchbay and MIDI Monitor per Ardour docs. But these docs provide no specific instructions to make this seemingly straightforward connection, and the few related forum posts don’t seem to directly address this and are quite dated.

I first tried several other DAWs that wouldn’t or couldn’t support this VST, though they all recognized the external keyboard. I got Peti to work with this keyboard using Tracktion (but don’t want to continue using that for several reasons). So, there seems no problem on Peti’s end, and the keyboard works.

Any help greatly appreciated!

Chris

You don’t need any external software for this. Are you perhaps using Ardour with JACK? There’s no particular reason to do this - just tell Ardour to use its own CoreAudio backend, and select the CoreMIDI support too. Your device should just show up.

Nice to know external software isn’t needed, but where should my device show up? I’m using the standard Ardour install and have no knowledge of JACK, so it’s not involved unless it’s a standard part of OSX 10.14. I don’t see CoreAudio or CoreMIDI in my fairly thorough poking around the Ardour gui.

I attach a screen shot of the MIDI connection Manager. My keyboard is an input device only, if that helps.

59%20AM|533x500

Take a screenshot of the Audio/MIDI setup window (the one inside Ardour, accessible via Window > Audio/MIDI once running, or the one that shows up when you start Ardour).