Exporting to other DAWs?

Hi there.
I’m new to Ardour and have a question.
Basically I have put together a portable budget studio to record my band. It has a PC running Ubuntu Studio. And I plan to use this plus it’s equipment to record my band (drums, guitars et all).
However, I also have a PC at home that my girlfriend and I use for making music running Sony ACID and a wealth of useful VST Plug-Ins.

Is there a way that after recording my band in Ardour, I can export my project so that it may be read in Acid or Cubase so I can do all of my mastering on my more powerful PC?

I realise I can export the seperate recorded files and WAV. But I need something that keeps all of the time stamps etc together. I.E. I don’t have to spend ages trying to drag the WAV’s around to get the instruments in the right places manually.

Many thanks,

Snoo.

Do you mean mixing or mastering?

If you mean mastering, bouncing to stereo wav would still allow you to master it. Mixing, on the other hand, would mean individually exporting all of the tracks and reimporting them into the other software.

I remember reading somewhere that ardour would be supporting one of the universal import/export formats shortly, but until then you can always export all tracks individually from a common point and reimport them if you have to hobble along until then.

Are you trying to do the mixdown and/or mastering on your PC simply because it’s a more powerful machine, or because you have a better rig attached to it? Most of the mastering process is colored by the monitors you’re using, which is probably way more important than the machine you’re using.

I’ve been using ardour + jamin for mixdown and mastering with no trouble, but I also have a decent set of near-field monitor speakers to do it with.