Draw Gain automation tool

Thanks for the tip on this Ben, however, can you clarify a couple of things.

If there is existing fader automation - this overides it? I can’t quite see how the relationship is working - I see my fader moving as per my existing automation, yet if I make a dramatic drop using the tool in the region, I hear the level drop, but the fader remains moving as per existing. Confused? You bet!

Also, what would be the simplest way to reduce automation overall by say half a dB? Let’s say I’d automated a vocal track, lots of moves. Then decided to reduce whole vocal by .5dB - easy way to do it?

By way - I tried the IRC - but though I could log in and see my status - couldn’t type - I’ve never used the IRC before so forgive my ignorance - how do I add some text??

Cheers!
Simon

you can select all the fader automation points (keep left mouse button and move) after that you can raise/lower all the points by grabbing one point and moving it the amount you like. I m not sure how accurate in terms of decibels that is though, have a try.

Also, what would be the simplest way to reduce automation overall by say half a dB? Let's say I'd automated a vocal track, lots of moves. Then decided to reduce whole vocal by .5dB - easy way to do it?

Tried that - all points turn green, adjust one and it’s just that one that moves.

OK, what you have to do is select all by dragging left mouse, then click Command and use the tool, - er no, that worked once, now it doesn’t…

If there is existing fader automation - this overides it? I can't quite see how the relationship is working - I see my fader moving as per my existing automation, yet if I make a dramatic drop using the tool in the region, I hear the level drop, but the fader remains moving as per existing. Confused? You bet!