Distort voice

First of all - I am not an English native, so even though I have searched, maybe I have not searched for the right terms.

I am a newbie on Ardour, but I have many years of experience on video editing. For me, there were two options when it came to audio editing. ProTools or Ardour. And I really wanted to see what could be done with Ardour, so I got a subscription.

So far, I have managed to get it up and running, gotten the session set up so things are working. Imported two tracks of audio that was exported from video editing and now I am looking at plugins.

I need to change the voice of a person in an interview so that it can not be recognized. The audio of that person is on a separate track, so I can do it in the mixer with plugins, I guess?

But what plugins to use? Are there any free plugins that will do the job?

I am grateful for any tip. Sorry if this sounds real easy to you, but to me it is a challenge :slight_smile:

You didn’t tell us if you are on Linux, OS X or windows, so I will just assume you are using Linux :slight_smile:

One way of making a voice unrecognizable is to detune it with a pitch shifter plugin. Using just one pitch shifter will not protect your speakers identity if someone really wants to know who is speaking. It’s easy to try to change it back. You get a much better protection if you use two pitch shifters one tuning up and one tuning down. Also don’t use guessable tunings (whole semitones, 10% , 20% etc) instead use percents that are not whole numbers if possible.

I have not tested these myself but you could take a look at these:

Tap Pitch Shifter
Rubberband

Here is a forum post discussing pitch shifter plugins:

https://linuxmusicians.com/viewtopic.php?t=11157

Using the Rubber Band Pitch Shifter (Breakfast Quay), Auto Wah (Fons Adriaensen) and Calf Flanger you can get this result and it’s stay relatively understandable.