Disk for Ardour projects

I’ve been using the same 2 towers for about 10 years and recently bought a new laptop and have been migrating my work to the laptop. It’s been a long time since I’ve configured a system for Linux audio. I’m wondering… the laptop has an ssd and and I’ve been running the projects in my home directory. Would I be better off making a dedicated partition on the ssd or possibly use a usb hd?

Short answer is probably not. You could benefit from external USB SSD, but honestly, most SSDs these days should be more than enough to handle both your computer and the recording.

1 Like

I’d agree, for pure audio recording, or for (most?) software-based synths.

However, larger sample-based VSTi’s (think orchestral programming) are super IO-hungry: putting them, or at least their sample audio files, on a separate SSD from the O/S is an easy (and cheap) bit of insurance (and lets you move them between machines easily, another benefit).

2 Likes

Hi,

I always have all my data on a second ‘DATA’ partition at the very least and when possible on a completely separate drive(s), If you want to switch Distros or things go irreparably south then you can reinstall be up and running literally in minutes. I keep the OS partition and the home folder just big enough for some breathing room and to use as a downloads holding area but any Audio recordings, Video, Graphics and Office Docs projects are never on the same partition as the OS. As has been said I don’t think i/o speed with an SSD could even possibly be a factor, really an older 7200rpm SATA HDD would be plenty fast to have the Program and Data running simultaneously and SSD is significantly faster.

If anyone cares here are my suggestions from the AV Linux User Manual (Page 15):

1 Like

Since I am not on my phone typing now, just to clarify a thing or two: