Copy set of plugins from one track to another

I want to know the best way to achieve saving a set of plugins and their settings so I can reuse them over and over.

I edit a podcast, I’m new to Ardour. Let’s say I dial in the plugins and settings on one track. I want to save those exacts plugins and settings for use on the other tracks as well, other guests on the show.

I expect to slightly alter them for the other guests to take into account their mics, recording conditions etc, but starting from those saved settings would be a great starting point.

I generally bring in all the talking tracks at once, 4-7 of them and then work on the plugins. So far, I have saved the different plugins as favorites in plugins, so they aren’t hard to find. I’ve also saved the settings as a profile in each plugin so I can have a great starting point.

It seems like the easiest way would be to have all those plugins and the individual settings saved in some sort of a template. Is this possible?

IDK, maybe import the tracks and then apply the template or maybe setup the tracks first with the plugins and settings then import the audio.

I used to accomplish this in Audacity by creating a macro. Then I’d run the macro on each audio track once I imported it. I’m sure there is something in Ardour to do this, maybe it’s more of a workflow issue.

OK, so I found out that I can go to the editor view, right click on the header, and save it as a template. That works. I created a new track in my mix and chose the template, and the settings were already there. Is this the best way to do this or is there another way?

Do I create the track from a template and then import the audio to that specific track? I can’t seem to figure out how to do that. When I import, the audio file goes to a new track.

Yep. When a track is selected, the import dialog has the option:
Add files… to selected tracks.

1 Like