Controlling Yamaha registration memory using patch change

I have read on this forum http://www.psrtutorial.com/forum/index.php/topic,44438.0.html that controlling the registrations is possible over midi. However, I am using Ardour 3 (running on a raspberry pi) and as far as I can tell, you cannot specify the bank msb or lsb from ardour 3 like the forum post suggests. For reference, I am using a Yamaha Psr s 900.
Many Thanks

I have found a page here that has a way to ‘convert’ MSB and LSB to one bank number. Is this what I should do?

Yep, that’s correct.

We changed it last year because it seems that most manufacturers seem to specify MSB/LSB rather than actual bank number (as you have discovered).

Ok thanks a lot, in a complete os update of my raspberry pi , I have managed to install ardour 5. I hope to use this instead of ardour 3. Thanks for your help Paul

Sorry, as previously mentioned I am quite new to MIDI. Can you explain what you mean by think a bit harder to figure out what the actual bank number is is there a way to ‘convert’ MSB and LSB to a single bank number. Please excuse my crude knowledge of MIDI.

You can certainly do this with Ardour 3.x as well (I just built and tried it). The difference is that in Ardour 3.x, you just specify the bank number a single value, rather than separately entering the MSB and LSB. This is easier to use in some cases (where the manufacturer just refers to bank numbers) and harder in others (where the manufacturer refers to MSB and LSB values). Somewhere between 4.x and 5.x, we change the patch change dialog to explicitly show the MSB and LSB instead of the “combined” bank number. So you just have to think a bit harder to figure out what the actual bank number is, and enter that.

Ok, that is what I suspected. As you can probably tell I am not an expert in midi but as far as I can tell ardour 3 isn’t capable of this. Thanks for your help.

You’re confused.