Consistent crash at tempo change (Ardour 5/6, Ubuntu Studio)

Hi. Something of a newbie here, so apologies if this has come up before and I’ve not found it.
I have a project which includes a couple of tempo changes. Initially this seemed OK, but Ardour now crashes consistently whenever it reaches a change. I can neither play the session nor export audio. It crashes at the same point every time. I have sent the problem report to the developers, but I was wondering if anyone else had come across a similar problem and had any idea how (or if) it could be solved or worked around.

Many thanks.

First question is was this with a version from this website? If not can you replicate it in the version from t his website (The free version would work for this purpose)?

Seablade

Many thanks.

Originally, it was the version from the Ubuntu Studio 20.04 LTS distro. I’ve then tried upgrading to Ardour 6 via the backport that they’ve provided. It’s Ardour 6.0.0~ds0 “The Pearl” (rev 6.0.0~ds0-3~ubuntu20.04.2).
I will have a look at downloading directly from Ardour.org, though.

For what it’s worth, I have a few tempo markers in there (it’s a lockdown virtual choir thing, so I built in a rallentando) and it seemed to be OK for a while, but it now crashes when it hits the first tempo marker. I’m thinking of just removing all of the markers now, since everything is in audio at this point.

OK. Just tried the 6.2 demo version. Same thing, I’m afraid. It dies as soon as it hits the first tempo marker. It may freeze for a few seconds before dying, or just bail immediately.
I don’t pretend to understand anything about the crash report, but if it helps in any way, the title is “ardour-6.2.0 crashed with SIGSEGV in ARDOUR::Amp::apply_simple_gain()”

If you don’t mind, can you create a bug report on tracker.ardour.org with a sample session without audio files that recreates this issue for you?

Seablade