Connecting wireless headphones

To begin with, I’m a total newbie in this, so forgive me if this is something everyone knows (but I couldn’t find an answer in the discourse). I want to use Ardour on Ubuntu connected with my wireless headphones. I am able to connect headphones to Ubuntu, Ardour is totally able to record sounds with the headphones (or so it seems) but it keeps giving audio output to my laptop’s main speakers and I can’t figure out how to channel the output to my headphones. Any help/tips on this are much appreciated :slight_smile:

I’d try looking at the output routing on the master channel (at the bottom end of the channel strip in the mixer window), to see if the headphone driver appears as an output device in the “hardware” tab.

Note, however, that if your wireless headphones use Bluetooth and you are using them to monitor during recording, you won’t get very good results because there is a lot of delay in a Bluetooth link.

I only see ‘system’ in that tab, what am I supposed to see? Also, I just found that Ardour is using my laptop’s mic instead of my headphone’s, meaning it’s totally ignoring my earphones.

As far as I know it is impossible to use bluetooth headphones with Ardour because Ardour uses Alsa to
connect to audio hardware, and there is no Alsa driver for bluetooth. Bluetooth can only be connected via Pulse audio, but Ardour does not use Pulse. However, you can buy a bluetooth USB doogle that has uses an Alsa driver, as a workaround. There used to a an Alsa driver for bluetooth, but for some reason it was removed.

1 Like