Click/Crackle/Chopiness on audio output (JACK problem?)

Hi. I am really new to all this, and barely even know what I am clicking (no pun intended) on in the application. Anyway, it looks very impressive, and I am so far able to connect my guitar multi-fx unit’s USB Audio output into the computer, and using software-monitoring I can hear the output.

However I have a problem. The audio output (through my onboard sound) is very crackly/choppy and broken. I expect this may be a kernel/JACK problem but I wonder if anybody has any advice.

I got out of bed early this morning with a brainwave - try 44,1KHz instead of 48k or vice-versa, but alas it makes no difference.

I can hear the crackling just listing to the inbuilt “click” metronome.

My machine is an Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600. I have no realtime kernel enabled. I could try moving to one, but I seem to remember reading that nVidia’s proprietary graphics module doesn’t work with RT kernel… (I had all those problems trying to use the nVidia module with a Xen kernel and believe the problem also relates to RT kernel).

My output device is : 00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
I think the actual hardware codec thing is an Analog Devices. ALSA says it’s ALC882.

I am using qjackctl before starting Ardour. Previous to this I was not, and I beleive Ardour was starting up jackd by itself. I couldn’t see where to alter sample rate and other jackd settings within Ardour so I started qjackctl before running Ardour and Ardour happily goes along with that instance, showing the sample rate that I set in the corner.

Others I have read have all found it to be sample rate related, but this isn’t helping :frowning:

I am using Fedora 8 on x86-64.

Hope you can help - thanks!