Catalina, Ardour6, Behringer XR18, 2013 iMac 64-bit

I’m a rookie with Ardour and the XR18.
Looking for advice/guidance/tips from someone who has been successful with a similar configuration OR a pointer to some current guidance.

What do you need guidance with? What are you feeling that you don’t know?

Using my XR18 connected via USB to my iMac; before with Ardour 5.12 and after installing the most recent Ardour 6; the symptoms are the same:

1. Ardour recognizes all 18 channels on the XR18
  2. I’m able to record, that is, I see the meter moving on the 1 channel I’m recording. I also see waveforms in the Editor.
  3. When I “playback” the recording I see meter moving in both the track and master. But no sound from iMac built-in headphone jack; from the XR-18 phones jack connected to my powered PA speaker; or from the XR18 XLR Main Left Out to my PA speaker.
    Note: I routinely play Apple Music from the iMac headphone jack to my PA speaker.
    I probably need a step-by-step guide. You see, I’m a drummer with years of Apple MacIntosh experience but zero experience setting up a recording configuration of any type.
    I watched UNFA’s (?) tutorials, but they don’t look like the Ardour that I’m looking at.
    I read the Manual, but it’s a couple of years old, and again, illustrations and terms don’t match what I see on my screen.
    I need to get this working as I have an opportunity to lay down drum tracks for another musician who uses Ardour Linux. He’s tried to help, but to no avail.
    My sincerest thanks for your quick response.
    :-DrummerDrewDW

OK.

I can’t answer the whole question for you, but I will explain this part: