"Canyon effect" for Native American Flute - Nakai's style

Hello everyone,

I’m quite new to Ardour. I’m experimenting with sound edit software as part of my hobby - I play Native American flutes, it’s quite fun. And since I’m kind a geek who likes to learn stuff, part of my flute’s hobby is learning how to edit it with software.

Here’s my “I wonder how…” kind of question.

I’m trying to achieve this kind of weak reverb/echo/delay - so called “canyon effect” among NAFlute’s players, like on Carlos Nakai’s recordings: youtube.com/watch?v=ey5v268s7ZA

I tried some built-in plugins in Ardour, with no luck so far - truly, I’m an amateur…

Can anyone help me with this, provide some tips, suggestions, plugin names or actual settings to try create this cool “Nakai” reverb effect with Ardour? I would appreciate any help!

Cheers,
Wojtek

You would get a more technically adept answer by asking your question on the forum over at KVRAUDIO.COM, but what I’m hearing is about a 2-second stereo reverb tail with maybe 1/3 sec of pre-delay, most of the lows scooped out and the extreme highs rolled off as well. Basically, the kind of response one might hear inside a stone room with irregular diffuse surfaces, like a castle basement.

You might get lucky trying out the “IR” convolution reverb (http://factorial.hu/plugins/lv2/ir) which was listed here a few years back as someone’s favorite reverb.

Miking the flute partway near the fipple will probably give your sound the slight “chirp” it needs to balance against the darker reverb tone.