Can't monitor VST instrument during audio track playback [solved]

Hi,

I’ve been using Ardour for a couple of years now, and for some reason I have never had this issue until now. Here is what happens in Ubuntu 18.04:

1. I record an audio track, and all is fine.

2. I add a MIDI track with a VST instrument (e.g. Yoshimi). I can play the VST instrument using my external MIDI keyboard. All is fine.

3. I start playback to play along to the already recorded audio track. This is what happens:

• There is no sound from the VST instrument when playing my external or virtual keyboard.
  • When I record enable the track, I can see that MIDI data are received on the track, but still no sound from the VST instrument, but the audio track is playing just fine.
  • When I hit record and start recording, suddenly there is sound from the VST instrument as I play along to the audio.
  • I stop recording and hit play: There is sound from the MIDI VST instrument track and the audio track.

To sum up: While listening back to recorded audio, I can only seem to monitor any input to VST instruments when actually recording. Rather, I would like to be able to playback the audio, so that I can mess about with different ideas before I actually record my MIDI data. I’ve made a short screen recording of what happens, if that is clearer than my explanation here. Any help would be much appreciated! The problem is the same no matter if using ALSA or Jack.

Link to screen recording:
Audio/Midi playback/monitoring conflict

Many thanks in advance.

In Ardour 5 this is normal behavior. On a given track, you can either monitor Input or Playback from disk.

Watch the “In” and “Disk” buttons on the mixer-strip (next to the record-arm).

You can explicitly select one (the button becomes fully lit). Otherwise the setting is implicit (yellow outline) depending on preferences and state (rec-arm’ed, recording, playing).

A common setup is to use a MIDI-bus with the instrument.