Can't get out of preferences

I am new to Ardour and I Googled, “How to get out of preferences” and didn’t find any results. Even if I close Ardour and open it again, preferences are still there. Here is a screenshot:

I am on a new install of Ubuntu Studio 19.10.

Menu > Window > Editor > Show …

…or use the buttons “Editor”, “MIxer” top-right, or cycle Editor/Mixer/Preference like Tabs (Ctrl + Page-up/down) or use any of the keyboard shortcuts e.g. Alt+M to toggle to Editor/Mixer…

Cheers!

1 Like

I was confused by this when first using Ardour. In the beginning I just assumed it was a bug with my window manager or similar. When it was never “fixed” I realized it was deliberate :wink: Is there a good reason why there aren’t traditional window buttons? If so, would it make better sense to show preferences as a button on the upper right like editor and mixer so it is clear it is a toggle/cycle? I realize that there would be vertical space issues with a third option…

1 Like

That makes a few of us. Mixbus uses a traditional floating window for preferences, and whenever I go back to Ardour it trips me up every time even though I know how it works. Not a major issue but because it’s unconventional it feels like a usability oversight.

1 Like

It’s just a different initial default. You can detach/attach the preference window as tab, changes are remembered.

When you launch Ardour 5.x the first time, the Preference Window is attached as Tab. While when you launch Mixbus 5 or Ardour 6/git the first time it’s a floating window.

Personally I find it very convenient to have it as a tab and cycle with Ctrl - Page up/down. That key-shortcut is the same for cycling browser-tabs or terminal tabs.

3 Likes

This is excellent news, especially if final release of Ardour 6 will default to floating window.

This is definitely not obvious for regular DAW users. Just thinking for new users who might get stuck on the inconsistency.

1 Like