Cannot Install On Mac OS X

Hello,

My first post! I am new to Macs overall, and I am attempting to install Ardour.

These source code installs are new to me. I am looking for a simple Mac OS X install, but I keep finding my way back into terminal only to start the install and fail because of “lib” not compatible, or not available. And my install fails.

I have tried a over a few times, fixed on issue by creating a “/opt” directory, but still getting snagged…

@knucks3man: what version are you trying to install? Building from source is VERY VERY complex- that’s why I try to save you the hassle and release it in prebuilt form. If you are trying to install one of the prebuilt bundles - there is no release of Ardour 3 for OS X yet. The website attempts to make that as clear as possible. Your mention of /opt makes me think that you selected one of the Linux releases - this will not work.

I do not even have the option to “choose” On the Download page, i donate, and it gave me a button to click which downloads a .tar file immediately.

Disregard last. Found!

“… there is no release of Ardour 3 for OS X yet. The website attempts to make that as clear as possible” is not a statement of fact. in fact, it’s baloney. the 128px headline on the home page shouts

“Record, Edit, and Mix
on Linux and OS X!”

throughout the normal flow of a visit (Home-> Download-> , ExtractFunds) all mention of unavailability for OSX (or, for that matter, any OS save Linux) is absent. i found out only after “subscribing” via paypal. well, it’s only a dollar per month, i lose that much in the sofa cushions, so who cares? but if you’d like to be thought of as honest, you should change the home page headline to read

“Record, Edit, and Mix
on Linux Only.”

the “subscription” page should have red text that states “NOT FOR OSX.”