Can I have some money to hire an assistant to record for me while I play my wind instrument?

Cause it seems I cannot:
Bind multiple shortcuts to an action.
Use a foot pedal to trigger a recording with count it.
Make recording with count in the default.

Would really love to use Ardour for recording but I kind of have my hands full with my instrument.

Grab a smartphone/tablet and use Websocket server:

…but this is also with no count-in.
Did you know that “count-in” uses first tempo of the session only and ignores tempo change? :slight_smile:

Hmmm, well I’d have to step on the phone or like, rig it up for an easy touch otherwise.

As for the tempo changes, I did not know that , but I’m fine with it, it gets me into the groove the best regardless.

Preroll works too but I like a little bit of leeway, I’m a beginner, helps me get into it better, but even if I were a pro, I’d still want a footswitch.

You can use record with count-in with any MIDI controller. Just edit the controller midi map and set a button for action: action=“Transport/RecordCountIn”.
Good luck!

So I haven’t tested this, so I would recommend testing before any purchase, but my thought here is to use Bitfocus Companion to send multiple OSC commands on a button and use it with a streamdeck pedal.

You could test this by just setting up the button in Companion and using the web interface to make sure it acts like you want, and then purchase the pedal if needed.

Seablade

Seriously? Hitting a button to record something within Ardour is a lot easier than actually playing your musical instrument. My guess is you can master it with diligent practice. :wink:

[In the good old days of tape recorders long before powerful programs like Ardour, I distinctly recall there was a button to push.]

Please turn the <sarcasm> mode off and let’s help @AlexAlex to fit Ardour into his workflow, if this is possible at all.