Calf LV2 plugin: Why do I not see its graphical interface?

I am using the Calf LV2 plugins on my tracks, but when I double-click them to change the settings, it comes up with this dialog with some sliders, not the pretty/beautiful GUI that you see on the Calf website.

I am a newbie, so sorry if it is a stupid question.

get the new version…see this also https://community.ardour.org/node/6152

Thanks, after looking at the thread I am thinking that I should probably upgrade. I am running the previous version of Ubuntu Studio, which I think is based on 12.10, and as someone in that thread points out, has an older version of the plugins. Will try it and let you know.

In edit/preferences/GUI check the «use plugin’s own interfaces instead of Ardour’s».

I think the Ubuntu Studio (12.10) build of ardour is broken and does not correctly link against the LV2 code required to display plugin GUIs. If you download the Ardour3 binary from ardour.org plugin GUIs should display correctly. (Ubuntu Studio devs, please test your ardour builds agains all commonly available LV2 plugins - its supposed to be an audio specific distro and Ardour is one of the if not the most popular linux DAW…)

@xherbie: I looked for this option a long time, but as it turns out I am using Ardour 2 that comes packaged with Ubuntu Studio, and I couldn’t find that option :slight_smile:

@linuxdsp: Thanks for the pointer. I am trying 3 now (although the actual Calf plugins UI still do not look like screenshots on their website - why is that?)

On your one point: I saw on lists.ubuntu.com someone making a very valid point that not all Ubuntu Studio users do audio production (i.e. it is not an audio-specific distro) - the discussion was around “on demand” CPU scaling. But I do agree that all the components that go into the distro should be properly tested.