Cakewalk and Ardour- help setting up

Hi everyone,

I am running Ardour 5.5 and Jack 0.44.I am trying to record an instrument with a Cakewalk UA-25 EX.

I am very new to music production in Linux. I am a long-time musician, but this is my first time trying to set up a usb-interface in my linux machine.

I have seen many video tutorials. So far, I (think I) have set up realtime audio by editing limits.conf.

I can start jack with no problem. Same goes for Ardour.
The Cakewalk is recognized by my computer.
The instrument, connected to the interface via usb, is recognized by the interface, as indicated by the peak light lighting up when I turn the sensitivity knob all the way up and play the instrument

But… I cannot see the cakewalk in the jack Connections window.

I would appreciate if there are any skilled Ardour users that would be willing to guide me through setting this up.

Thanks in advance

That jack version does not make sense (the two common versions of jack in use on linux are 0.125 and 1.9.11 or 1.9.12.
You perhaps mean that you are using qjackctl 0.4.4 to start jack, but that version is also old, from the end of 2016, the current version is 0.5.0.

The version of Ardour you have is also very old, the current version is 5.12. The ardour news page does not have dates on the announcements so I don’t remember when 5.5 came out, but that is 6 releases back, so at least a couple of years ago. There is no reason to run a version that old, you won’t get any help when you hit bugs which are already fixed in new versions.

But to your original question, the audio interface in the jack connections window would be listed as “system” so if you were expecting to see a name specific to your interface that may be why you think is it not present.