best workflow for flexibly composing drum tracks (A2)

Hey guys,

I’m quite new to the Ardour world and to audio recording in Linux in general. I’m looking for a simple solution to get drum tracks into Ardour2. I know there’s MIDI support in the coming version of Ardour, but I can’t use the alpha, because there seems to be a bug in it, leading to unbearable high DSP loads without any apparent reason, while A2 works like a charm for me in this respect.

At the moment, I’m using Hydrogen to create individual drum patterns which I then export to wavs to be imported into Ardour. This works well, but its a quite annoying, because I have to export and import every single pattern, to be able to copy and paste drum patterns within ardour to try things out songwriting-wise in the end. Another point is, that I need measure and tempo changes, which makes it quite impossible to just write the whole drum track of a song in Hydrogen (which would be annoying anyway) and then export it or to syncronize it via Jack to Ardour.

Can anyone give me a hint on which way to go?

I’d eventually love to have some simple way to compose drum tracks within Ardour – ideally without the need to click around to much, slowing eveything down, a way like i.e. GuitarPro and TuxGuitar provide it by just laying down the midi notes in numbers via the keyboard…

Yes you can hook Hydrogen up to Ardour using qjackctrl . Googles our friend here . I think theres some briansbedroom blog about it somewhere ? You can stereo out to one stereo track or per drum output to several tracks . Ardour will record the audio of hydrogen , kind of like rewire on windows and mac , where they connect Reason to Protools .

I need measure and tempo changes, which makes it quite impossible to just write the whole drum track of a song in Hydrogen

Well, you can use jack transport in both ardour and hydrogen, and set ardour as the master. Then hydrogen will follow ardour’s tempo changes.