Best drums for linux

Hi there!

I have been using Ardou for about 3 or 4 years. I have recorded a few songs and I have some experiencie. I have some practice in mastering and mixing learning in a autodidact way.

The question is that my drums not sound very real… At the beginning I used the hydrogen software, and in my last compositions I used drumgizmo plugins to use the drums.

There are a better (and realistic way) to use drums in ardour (in linux) that this two softwares? Must I buy drumkits for it (where?) The drumklits are fantastic and the problem is that I does not mix it in a correct way?

Ideas? Best regards :slight_smile:

1 Like

The most autentic drum sound I ever experienced is DG and tchackpoum kit. I do all midi on 1 DG track , then every sound is routed to their respected audiobus where I use a little compression and eq. I cant tell that it is a real drums or not.

I have to say that I record the drums, not painting. maby thats the issue ?

1 Like

I painted all the drums on my last album using DrumGizmo with the CroecelKit. The key is you want to make sure the velocities aren’t all at 64 - give it some variety and it’ll sound more human. The humanization knobs within DG help a bit, but I think it’s best to also play with the velocities of individual notes.

The other keys I found:

• Find your kick drum mic for whatever kit you choose and give it some compression + saturation. Saturation will both decrease the actual volume and increase the perceived volume - just don’t saturate it enough to kill the transients.
  • Give the snare a similar treatment
  • Within the plugin, play with the bleed slider on the bottom to find the right spot for your mix.
  • On the full DG bus, use compression + saturation (more subtle) + reverb. Reverb and bleed are kind of similar - the bleed adds bleed between mics, which can thicken the sound and make it sound more realistic, while reverb adds to the size of that room.

Hope that helps!

1 Like