Behringer UMC22 with Unbuntu studio unable to connect

Yes, another newbie here (retired). Have UMC22 that does work with win10, so the interface is good. But now want to ditch windows, and have installed ubuntu studio to Dell E4310, installs Ok.
In windows I had to download ASIO for the UMC22, but now, Ardour there is ALSA? tried to find out more about ALSA, but everyone is talking about the CLI. I am not at all good with CLI. Did use vanilla ubuntu as a work machine, as it was free and reliable.
Now, if I sudo lsusb, I can see something like;
Bus 002 DEVICE 008: ID 08bb:2902 TEXAS INSTRUMENTS PCB2902 AUDIO CODEC.
So ubuntu knows that the interface is connected.
Now, how do I get Ardour to connect to the interface?
I have many different ways (searching on the net), but I do not know why and what is going on.
Anyone else having similar issues, thanking anyone, in advance, regards, David

You would get Ardour to connect to the device by selecting it in the audio/midi dialog which likely comes up when you first start Ardour and create the session. You can also pull it up by going to Window>Audio/Midi Setup once a session is open.

If you have already tried this it owuld be helpful to post what is or isn’t happening, with a description of any errors/etc. you see.

Seablade

Thanks for your reply.
I found the Audio/Midi setup.
Changed the input from Intel to USB AUDIOCODEC.
Started. Failed to open audio device.
This audio interface does work with windows, on another PC.
Is there any other method, thanks and regards, david

I have the Berhringer UMC2 (running Linux Mint) and it works on my system. I am using Jack QJackCtl and you can select the interface in the ‘setup’ section.

This means that another audio service is using the audio device. I recommend either JACK or Pipewire to act as an intermediary layer that makes it so multiple applications can access audio devices.