Batch Loudness Normalizer tool

I hope that this is useful for peeps who need to normalize audio files either before entering the DAW or for distribution afterwards. There are two scripts: ebu-norm and tp-norm, for integrated loudness and true peak targeting respectively. ebu-norm will apply limiting if there would be true-peak overage due to added gain with a SoX compand chain translated and adapted from @mhartzel’s FreeLCS project (thank you!).

Feedback very welcome as long as you understand that I’m relatively new to both scripting and Github :stuck_out_tongue: .

1 Like

@mhartzel, I changed the equivalent of your audio_peaks_absolute_ceiling to - 1 dBTP versus -2 dBTP as in your project. I haven’t managed to send the peaks above -1 dBTP as yet…

Also, I didn’t use the incremental drop by 0.5dB based on initial integrated level as it feels like the peak would end up unnecessarily low. Am I missing something? Am I just not using enough problematic music/speech/fx files? :confused:

Hey this looks super useful, thank you. Welcome to the Ardour community!

@BethHarmon I chose those values after testing some 30 GB of audio from out company archives. There are some extreme examples there, one radio drama had very low overall loudness and suddenly a full scale explosion. You probably will get away with more moderate values with better behaving audio. I tried to prevent overshooting in these extreme cases.

I also found out that it’s often impossible to hear any distortion if 0 dBFS is exceed for a sample or two, very short periods of overshooting won’t really matter much if nobody can hear them.

1 Like