Background noise

I am just getting started with Ardour, and I am liking it so far.

The trouble I’m having is with background noise. No matter what I try, I always get a slight hiss behind anything I record. Is it possible to make recordings without this? Is there a plugin I can use within Ardour to eliminate the noise?

At first I thought it might be my computer making noise, but even when I move the microphone away there is still that hiss. Could it perhaps be the microphone?

Thanks so much for your help! I hope my question isn’t too elementary :slight_smile:

Could be JACK as well.
May want to fiddle with the periods/buffer settings. I know for myself, the default settings produced a loud static and buzz behind my tracks. I had to change the Periods/Buffer to 4 and increase the Frames/Periods to 512.

Do not know about a plugin for that, and there may be one.

But this link here is a great tool to help you set your studio up to minimize these problems.

a lot of things in your setup may introduce the hiss.

You might want to open the harddrive and clean it. Perhaps you’ve got some dirt on the reading head. :wink:

Seriously though; you need to describe your setup (soundcard, mixer, mic, way of recording et.al.) if we’re gonna have a chance to help you.

I sometimes get a lowfrequent hum in my recordings, due to a ground loop I haven’t bothered taking care of, but I can’t think of anything specific that would cause hiss.

You can try to do a “silent” recording, disconnecting everything from the soundcard input, to see if you still get hiss. If not, start connecting things one at a time to see when the hiss is introduced.
If the silent recording has hiss you got a bad soundcard or some misconfiguration in the alsa/jack/ardour chain.