Aurdour did not find my files

I am on macOs and Ardour 5.5. and I am new to Ardour.
I am working on a project, which required to add a lot of different files to it.
First observation, it seemed to only accept audio files with the correct sample rate. The warning if it was different made me do the sample rate conversion in another program. Or is there a way to let Ardour do it?
Then when I placed files from outside into the timeline, I thought, maybe it would be better for future ordering to move those files into the interchange folder of the project folder. But by reopening the project it did not find those files, though it claimed it was looking within the interchange and the previous folder. Ok, I closed Ardour without saving and moved the files back to their original place. But on opening Ardour did not find them again, I had to redo my importing again.
Is this a bug or did I not understand something here. This sort of stuff should be a no brainer…

TJ, from my experience you have to convert the files in the correct sample rates before to add them in Ardour. I once tried to open a drum track made with Hydrogen at a certain sample rates, and when in Ardour it worked bad. So all the files must have the same sample rates.
About the files in the project. What I suggest you is once you have imported all the files in a project, save it. In this way you’ll have everything stored in the …/export folder created by Ardour, no matter where the files are.