Audio-post for Short-film

I used Ardour along with Reaper for the post-production of the short-film ( http://youtu.be/eNlxL-RtoG8 )… Please share your comments…

Regards,
Abhayadev S

Hi Abhayadev. I’ve been working in film & television post production for nearly 30 years so I hope my comments will be helpful. Firstly, a rider - I’m only listening on a Mac Mini so I’m not hearing great sound here. However, that’s not your fault. It just limits my judgement a bit!! It seems as if a lot of the scenes were shot mute so as a basic tracklay, you’ve done pretty well. Here are my comments from the first 8 minutes or so…

00:58 - Opening scene might have benefitted form a bit of aircon FX (maybe it’s there but I can’t hear it on my small speakers!)
01:40 - Traffic noise goes very quiet here, even though we can just about see traffic in the background
01:50 - The telephone dialog sounded cleaner than the sync dialog (on my crappy speakers). In sound dubbing it’s quite common to check things like this on two sets of speakers (some good reference monitors and then something cheap and crappy). The telephone dialog probably needs to be tinnier. (also, probably needs slightly more b/g traffic)
02:20 - 03:55 - This whole section would benefit from some music IMHO. You could even extend it to 04:48 to hide the fact that the foreground dialog is missing
06:59 - 07:19 - Nice motorbike FX. I don’t know if the bike effect is live sound or if you dubbed it but it sounded quite realistic to me. The engine starting could have been a bit louder though.
07:23 - We get no idea of why the woman went to answer the door. You should probably have dubbed a door knock a little earlier (approx. 07:19)

That’s probably enough to be going on with. A pretty good effort I thought.!

Thank you, really appreciate your effort and this is really encouraging…
00:58 - aircon FX - to be frank i didn’t understand this. is this a FX library? or Room tone?