Audio/MIDI Setup confusion

I’m new to Ardour, if the audio system is in ALSA, I can chose the Input and Output Device. In this case I have a USB Condenser Microphone for the input, but I don’t know about the Output devices, I’m not sure what I should chose between HDA Intel PCH, or HDA NVidia… If the Audio system is in JACK, I can chose the Driver and the Device, I also don’t know what to configure there, but I noticed that if I chose JACK, my output (headphones) will be able to work but it won’t be the case for my microphone, if I chose ALSA, my headphones won’t work but the microphone will. I also don’t know if I can configure my devices during an active session, I tried to configure the routing grid a couple of times without success.

If there’s any source that may respond to my questions, feel free to share it down bellow but I watched and read through tutorials and explanations already, I would like to have a clear answer on this, thanks.

Welcome to Ardour. Unfortunately, the initial news is not good …

I hate to be a bore, but the first thing to say here is that you should not be using a USB microphone at all. As I keep saying over and over, it is really unfortunate that the manufacturers of these devices have convinced so many people that these are the devices they should buy, when in fact they are fundamentally a bad idea.

The first rule of digital audio is that everywhere that converts between analog and digital signals should use the same sample clock. There is no way for your USB microphone to share its own sample clock with anything else. There is no way for your USB microphone to use anothe device’s sample clock.