ardour3 midi compared to rosegarden

I am very new to midi. I did once follow a tutorial for opening a .midi file in Rosegarden and using zynaddsubfx to produce the sound, and apart from hooking up my midi keyboard and changing a few notes on the piano roll, I didn’t get any further, not having the time to experiment.

I’m hoping there are going to be lots of Ardour3 articles in the various Linux magazines shortly and I expect to see some midi tutorials aimed at my level, but I’d appreciate it if somebody could provide a high level summary of what the new Ardour 3 midi capabilities allow me to do, preferably not in terms of other DAWS or sequencers since I have no experience of using them, apart from struggling with Ableton for a for weeks and not really getting anywhere.

For example, is a separate sequencer needed or can Ardour3 provide that? And do I still need a separate drum machine, e.g. hydrogen to create even the most rudimentary of drums tracks or can A3 do that as well?

Hi,

Ardour MIDI is very different than Rosegarden (which is fading away unfortunately) and you probably want to really take your time and read this: http://manual.ardour.org/editing-and-arranging/editing-midi/

My personal opinion regarding MIDI drums specifically is to still use Hydrogen and lock the transport together, however depending on your workflow and expectations this may not be necessary. if you are a ‘visual’ person then having the ability to draw velocities like Hydrogen employs is much more intuitive for drums especially, if you are a ‘numbers’ person and don’t mind a (computer) keyboard driven workflow then you will appreciate what Ardour 3 has to offer.

For drum loops Hydrogen is very good… and quite intuitive to use, so I agree with GMaq…