Ardour Won't Launch!

I’ve used Ardour for years on various Linux distros. I’m currently on Debian 10 with all software working perfectly including Mixbus. Out of the blue, Ardour stopped launching. Assuming an application glitch, I uninstalled, rebooted, downloaded a fresh file of latest version and guess what, still no launch. I’m not technical enough to crack this one, any ideas anyone?

No software just stops “out of the blue” so something must’ve changed but we’ll need more info.
Try starting Ardour in a terminal and see if it produces anything.

So in terminal: cd to installation path (usually /opt/Ardour-{version}/bin) and execute ardour.

1 Like

That is good news. Welcome to the unix world.
If you install the same application again it should behave identically. Also rebooting the system should not make any difference, you just boot into the same system again.

Chances are that for some reason the configuration became invalid. Ardour stores user config in $HOME/.config/ardour6

Try to move it away and start over, in a Terminal window run:

mv ~/.config/ardour6 /tmp/

Alternatively run Ardour from a terminal: just Ardour6 and press enter that may print some information as to why it does not launch.

Thanks for your reply, I know it must be something on my system. Ardour won’t run from the terminal either. I’ve posted a copy of the messages I get under Robin’s reply. I suspect the answer will be obvious to people like yourselves, not to me alas :slight_smile:

Thanks for your reply Robin - this is the text I get running from the terminal - I would love to know what it means :slight_smile: I’ve been experimenting with LMMS Flatpack a lot lately but otherwise have done nothing unusual with my PCas far as I know. Rob

/opt/Ardour-6.5.0$ ‘/opt/Ardour-6.5.0/bin/ardour6’
Ardour6.5.0 (built using 6.5 and GCC version 6.3.0 20170516)
Ardour: [INFO]: Your system is configured to limit Ardour to 1048576 open files