Ardour resampling

Hi!
Creating accidental FX effects using the connection from the Master track to a single stereo track & using powerful ardour tools:

• Record;
  • automatic creation of a new track while dragging an audio region to an empty space;
  • Cut;
  • Reverse;
  • Stretch;
  • sends to effect buses etc…

1 Like

this is what I have been looking for. I’m very new to Ardour. If you have some free time, I’d love a write up of how you did everything. I got a little lost in your video. Thanks so much for sharing.

1. First of all, what I had made for myself, when I decided to use Ardour in “fast” mode - I’ve learned shortcuts. You can find them in Window>Keyboard Shortcuts (Alt+K). Also you can reset them to your own. (I personally decided to learn the defaults – was strange after Cubase but the Linux is strange at all for windowsers :), now I have a habit)

2. I’ve learn about the routing power of Ardour. My principle:

2.1. If you press the INPUT or the OUTPUT button by the Left mouse button in the mixer strip - you’ll get the lists of connections – my favorite point is “Disconnect”(you can fast disconnect everything without delving specifically).

2.2. If you press the INPUT or the OUTPUT button by the Right mouse button in the mixer strip - you’ll get the connection matrix – the heart of Ardour. It’s a super-comfortable tool for detailed connection almost everything with everything.

2.3. Specially for “Re-sampling” my principle: to connect the OUTPUT of Master Track to the INPUT of my newly created “render” audio track. Of course, the OUTPUT of the “render” track I’ve “Disconnected”. (Ardour also will alert you about the cycle connection - a “Feedback” knob indicator splashes - if you will connect input and output from Master simultaneously)

1. Navigating in the Editor Window:

3.1. To ZoomIN/ZoomOUT – I scroll the mouse+Ctrl.

3.2. To move the view to right/left – I scroll the mouse+Shift.

3.3. To move the view up/down – I scroll the mouse.