Ardour in Ubuntu 11.04

ok so i would love to come to linux but i’ve run into a small issue

i wanted to run ardour with vst capability so i downloaded the source code and compiled with every option i could. It looked like it compiled just fine and then i installed it. all the other options like freesound, lv2 etc… seem to be there and i want to see if vsts work but i can’t seem to find a way to install the vsts. i’ve read some other stuff on the topic and it says to create a folder and have that link to the vst folder that ardour looks in. this is where i get stuck. i’m still new to linux in general and i’m not comprehending how to do this in general.

i also read that you should be able to start this version from from the command line with “ardourvst” but it’s telling me it doesn’t exist. If that were so then why when i run the normal ardour from clicking on the icon all the other options i compiled into it are all there?

If you have any instructions to post please act as if i’m a complete moron and make them as specific as possible. I really like this program in every other respect so far and would love to use it and finally dump windows completely.

My advice for a Linux newbie (or even an experienced hand) is that if you want to do music with Linux start with a Linux distribution which is already tailored to music production and bypass these sort of compilation/configuration headaches. While it is possible to run Ardour and other music software on any Linux distribution you’ll save yourself a lot of trouble using something like AVLinux which has ArdourVST and a lot of other music software working out of the box. You can run AVLinux from a bootable DVD or install it to a new partition so you can keep Ubuntu. AVLinux is of course not the only choice for a Linux music distro, but I’ve had very good experience with it.