Ardour in live music?

Greetings everyone,

I’m a relative beginner in Ardour. I’m sometimes doing small live gigs with a medium category digital mixer. Sometimes the capabilities of the mixer are limiting (e.g. not enough EQ filters per channel).

I have recently learned there is now a Waves edition (called Superrack Performer) to run on notebooks to host plugins for doing live sound, and this would suit me, as the digital mixer has multitrack USB I/O over ASIO.

However, I was thinking, maybe Ardour could do the same thing for me? Anyone knows whether Ardour would be better/the same/worse for this purpose?

Thank you in advance.

Ardour can be used for this, whether it is better/worse etc. depends on your exact needs and workflow, but the basics of it comes down to, typically this is a specific set of tools needed, that Ardour is far more reaching than those tools and as a result using those tools may not be as simple/quick as a dedicated tool for this.

Yes Waves Superrack is one option, Yamaha also has one out, as do a few other companies depending on your preferences.

Seablade

You are right, I underspecified.

I just want more flexible EQ on the channels than available in the mixer, perhaps also some reverb or delay, etc., then some cross/matrix mixing (buses/sends) for monitors and the main PA.

I was thinking mostly latency and reliability-wise. Basically, can Ardour, despite being a much more general tool, perform with the same low latency as other such software (on the same hardware).

There are only two things that limit the lowest latency you can get with ardour:

1. the behavior of your operating system and hardware
  2. the amount and type of DSP running inside ardour