Ardour for Live Performance with Surge-XT

Hi, I’m new to all of this so pardon if I get some of the terminology incorrect. I’m looking to use Surge-XT in a live environment, and I’d like to be able to change patches/presets automatically during the course of a song. I’d also like to have some additional parts pre-recorded on separate tracks, for things I can’t play live at the same time, as one might expect. I’m hoping that this is a supported use case of Ardour, but I don’t exactly know.

The problem is, I can’t seem to find a way to effectively change patches or presets in Surge using Ardour’s automation.

Things I’ve tried so far…

1. I can insert a patch/program change event into the MIDI channel. This does have an effect, however Surge-XT does not handle these events in a useful way. There is an issue in their github about this, but suffice it to say, it’s not suitable.

2. Create presets for the Surge-XT plugin at the Ardour level (meaning at the top of the window when you open the plugin’s GUI, not as patches within Surge-XT itself). These Ardour-level presets seem to save/restore the state of the plugin when I use them, but I’m unable to figure out how to change these using either the Ardour automation or using any kind of event I can add to the midi track.

3. Create few Surge-XT tracks, one for each sound I want to use in a song, and use the automation to fade in/out each one, as the song progresses. This works in theory, but the problem is that all of the Surge-XT instances all run all of the time, even the muted ones, and the CPU load is such that I get pops in the audio from having too many instances all running.

4. Do something like number three, but turn the plugin on/off at appropriate times during the song. Well, I didn’t actually do this because I can’t find any controls which will allow me to do it, but it’s something I looked for.