Ardour audio engine

I’m only new to Ardour and recently made a donation and downloaded the source tarball for a quick look under the hood. Wow!! Hard dish audio player.
I use a Mac mini with MTS multitrack studio for live work on stage and use stems for play back of bass and keys mainly additional dubs to enhance our band performance. Moreover a midi track is setup for each song for the purpose of controlling DMX lights and patch change before and during each song for FX and guitar pedalboard changes.

I’m looking at options to develop a standalone 1 RU box. Something like the JoeCo box but with midi!
Code name “GigBox” which basically the same idea a multitrack player (no recoding features) which plays multitrack up to 16 tracks from Solid state Hard disk drive. The Ardour audio and midi engine could do this but without the GUI and the fancy stuff.

In a nut shell, what would be involved in using out audio engine for multitrack audio and midi playback running as a Daemon??

Was looking to use iPad or Android app to control GigBox on stage. Song list.start stop loop between markers etc.

My idea of the GigBox is a Linux box running Debian or Fordora on a miniITX MoBo (i5 with 4gb ram) audio and midi interface built in the case.
Ethernet to upload songs to structure song directory.
Basic Color LCD for setup and operation with a 16 vertical Led vu meters which show channel level assigned to output channels. FFT through software no VST plugin needed.

If this sounds do able I have all the technical ideas expertise but lack the code Audio engine and automation skills.
Ardour maybe the answer?

Any one Interested ?

Headless Ardour? Sounds like you want checking out Ecasound. It’s audio only, as far as I can recall, though, which could be a showstopper.

I’ve already look into the Ecasound option… No midi! which is real bummer!