Ardour and the DRUMKV1 plugin

hi, I’m asking if or how I can update this plugin.

I’m using Ardour 5.12 and Ubuntu 16.04 LTS and have the drumkv1 plugin, but it’s about 3 years old. There is a recent version (14 April). I can’t remember where the old plugin came from, perhaps it came with Ardour? Anyway I’d like to get the new version.

Does anyone know of a simple download for the LV2 plugin please?

I don’t think I need the whole software, just need to use the plugin within Ardour. I tried to compile drumkv1 but I’m not very technical and got bogged down when I tried to get Qt framework. Looking in the forum here, I see references to a limitation around plugins pulling in system-wide libs that conflict with Ardour, so perhaps it’s not possible to have the new drumkv1 with 5.12?

Whilst writing, and since things always move on, is there any other solution you’d suggest I look at for playing samples like this -

• works nicely with Ardour and not tricky to set up (e.g. I don’t use Jack)
  • load my own WAV samples into it and associate with a MIDI note
  • play/record using my Akai pad controller

Any advice or tips very welcome, thanks for reading, Andrew

You could use one of the sampler plugins by LSP.
For example : https://lsp-plug.in/?page=manuals&section=multisampler_x12

Downloads here : https://lsp-plug.in/?page=download

1 Like

What versionof drumkv1 do you have? If KXStudio’s (https://kx.studio/) version (0.9.4) is the one you want you can add them, install drumkv1, and if you don’t want to keep the repositories, you can disable right after…

But Rghvdberg suggestion is a good one!

Thanks folks for the comments.

@rghvdberg, looks interesting, I will investigate. I’ve only had a quick read so far. (What is there 12 of?!)

@finotti , I have 0.7.1. So would I follow the intructions here https://kx.studio/Repositories#Ubuntu